Sunday, a day of rest…

November 4, 2007 at 11:37 am Leave a comment

For most folks that is, but not us.  We moved our cacti inside last week and just dumped the darlings in the middle of the livingroom.  Today we get to give them their winter home and we get to remember how the heck we avoided being “stuck” as we move around our home!  I’m really not kidding, these things are giant.  Here’s a peek at a few of them.

plants.jpg

By the way, that’s our Addie Girl trying to figure out what the heck is going on! HaHa!  She was a 35 pound, tick infested gal when we rescued her and now you can see that she is the queen of the household…especially in her size!

Okay, I promised you some pictures of our booth at the market.  It was a windy, brisk day but the sun was shining and Drew manned the griddle and fixed corn cakes to go along with this week’s sampling…Cowboy Beans’n Sausage Soup.

drew-market.jpg

market-booth.jpg

One of our good friends, Roger stopped by and surprised us with a bag full of his heirloom peppers.  Our freezer will welcome them. 🙂  He also told me that he is almost finished with his Tomatoes Etc. list of seeds for the year and I think I’ll pass them on to you as soon as he gives it to me.  Heirlooms are wonderful and well worth the extra few cents that they cost.  I have to admit that the first time I looked at an heirloom tomato I thought it was the ugliest thing in the world but then I tasted it!  Yummy!!!  Roger grows well over 100 varieties and each one looks and tastes different.  I can’t wait to share his seed list with you.

Geez, I almost forgot…I was going to share the recipe from yesterday’s sampling.  Guess the sun and wind got to me more than I thought.  Hey, at least I remembered before I closed my thoughts for the day.  Here ya go…

Cowboy Beans’n Sausage Soup

2 lbs. dried beans (we used pinto and white beans!)

3 qts. water

1 lb. smoked sausage, cubed small

1 medium onion, diced

1 cup green pepper, diced

2 ribs celery, diced

2 Tbsp. Herb’n Cowboy

1 tsp. each of beef and chicken bouillon

 

Soak beans overnight; drain and rinse. In a 6 qt. pot bring water and beans to a boil; reduce heat, cover and simmer 1 hour. Stir occasionally. Brown sausage in a skillet for 5 minutes, then add next four ingredients and saute’ three minutes more. Once the beans have cooked an hour add mixture and bouillon to beans. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer (uncovered) for an additional hour or until beans are tender and soup has thickened…stir occasionally. Salt to taste.

Time to go help Drew unload Bernie, eat a country ham (from the market) breakfast and hopefully stay awake long enough to get the plants into position.  Naps are a good thing on a Sunday.  I hope you all get to enjoy one today too!  I’ll talk at ya tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Food, herbs and spices.

We’re off to the market! Monday Happenings!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



