A Proud Salute To Our Veterans!

November 12, 2007 at 1:36 pm Leave a comment

Today is the day that we should all raise our hand in a salute to the fine men and women who help to give us the freedom that our nation was founded on. I speak from experience when I say that not only should we salute the actual service member but also the families that stand behind their soldiers. I was married to an Army helicopter pilot during the Vietnam war. I know what it feels like to sit and wait for the mailman to deliver those cherished letters. I know what it feels like to go to bed at night and know that my husband might not make it through the night. It is a sacrifice that many cannot handle and my thanks and gratitude go out to all of those who are home and waiting for the safe return of their loved ones. I would also like to thank my ex husband (now deceased) Delbert J. Jackson for his service to our country and for opening my eyes and my life to a world that I would never have known without him. My thoughts and prayers are with all of our military and their families on this, their day.

I was trying to think of an appropriate recipe to post today and my mind immediately went to one of my dad’s favorites. I can remember laughing when my mom prepared it because it was so simple and to my dad it was a feast! I have no idea where the recipe, if you can call it that, came from but we always called it “G.I. Hash!” Nothing like any hash that we eat nowadays but that’s what my family called it. Maybe my dad ate something similar during WWII. I really don’t know but it is good, no matter how yucky it sounds.

So, here is the recipe for G.I.Hash in memory of my wonderful dad, Lars T. Mord…

1 lb. Ground beef

1 can sliced potatoes, drained and rinsed

1 can beef gravy (my mom always used Franco American!)

a handful plus of frozen peas

salt and pepper to taste

Brown the ground beef and drain any excess grease from the skillet. Dump the potatoes, gravy and peas into the skillet. Cover and simmer until warmed through. We always had a buttered slice of plain old white bread with our bowl of “hash!”

I have to admit that we usually add a bit of Good’n Garlicky when I prepare this now. I’m not sure if Drew enjoys it as much as my dad did but he tolerates it when I feel a bit of nostalgia tugging at my heart. Bless you Drew for putting up with my childhood memories.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and please remember to honor our service men and women today, even if only for a proud snappy salute.

Entry filed under: Food, herbs and spices, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Today is for you, Paul! Planning for the final market day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



