Chilly Monday Morning!

December 3, 2007 at 3:07 pm 3 comments

We’re up and at it early this Monday morning! That nap that I took yesterday means that I have to work twice as hard today but it sure was worth it.

Much to Drew’s dismay, I have pulled out all of my holiday tapes and CD’s and I’ll be singing along with them as I continue to get gift baskets ready for mailing and the market. He hates this time of the year because I really cannot carry a tune but I love Christmas music and I proudly belt out the songs along with the folks that really know how to sing. HaHa! House cleaning is so much more fun when you are singing your way through it. Try pushing your vacuum to “Jingle Bells!” You’ll be amazed at how much fun it is. 🙂

I have to admit that dinner tonight will probably be nothing more than a salad with some grilled shrimp on top. We got some really nice lettuce at the farmers market on Saturday and we’ve stil got plenty of Wild Caught Georgia shrimp in the freezer. It’s cold enough outside to warrant chili or soup but I hate to waste that beautiful lettuce. My dad used to love a salad dressing made with nothing more than a mixture of ketchup and mayonnaise. I loved it to but now I add some of our Good’n Garlicky to mine. Drew goes a step further and adds horseradish to his. It’s great on a salad topped with shrimp!

For those of you who don’t have any of the wonderful shrimp available here’s a recipe more in keeping with the cold weather…enjoy!

GRILLED CHICKEN’N BEAN SOUP

2 LB. BONELESS CHICKEN BREASTS

RUB’N SEASON POULTRY

1 1/2 LB GREAT NORTHERN BEANS

4 QT.’S CHICKEN STOCK

1 TBSP. OLIVE OIL

1 CUP DICED ONION

1 CUP DICED CELERY

1 CUP DICED CARROTS

SEASON EACH CHICKEN BREAST WITH ABOUT 1 TSP. OF RUB’N SEASON POULTRY ON EACH SIDE; REFRIGERATE FOR 2 OR MORE HOURS. GRILL CHICKEN FOR ABOUT 8 MINUTES ON EACH SIDE OR UNTIL FIRM. SOAK BEANS OVERNIGHT IN WATER; RINSE AND DRAIN. COVER BEANS WITH 3 QTS. OF STOCK & BRING TO A BOIL. REDUCE HEAT; SIMMER FOR 1 HOUR, STIRRING OCCASIONALLY. SAUTE’ ONION, CELERY & CARROTS IN OLIVE OIL FOR 5 MINUTES. DICE CHICKEN INTO 1/4 ” PIECES. ADD CHICKEN, VEGETABLES AND REMAING STOCK TO BEANS; RETURN TO BOIL, REDUCE AND SIMMER 1 HOUR OR MORE…STIRRING OCCASIONALLY. SALT AND PEPPER TO TASTE.

Stay warm today!

 

 

 

Entry filed under: daily living, Food, herbs and spices, recipe, thinking out loud.

Sunday Doing’s! Head’n towards town!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. C. R.  |  December 3, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    I believe this is my favorite soup! It is WONDERFUL! I caramelize my onions and use canned beans. I usually use a large can of northern beans. I serve sourdough bread along with this soup. This is one soup I don’t mind having leftovers of in the fridge!

    Reply
  • 2. chantay  |  December 10, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I’m a housewife and looking for credit cards with rewards. My nephew recommended a credit web site, I’m afraid it’s unsafe. Is there anybody who knows about
    ?
    best cards for bank transfer

    Reply
  • 3. herbfolks  |  December 12, 2007 at 12:37 am

    Wish I could help you out but I am not familiar with that site. Credit card rewards are good but not using them is even better! I know because we are credit card debt poor but we are learning to live without them! Maybe someone else can help you out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



