Head’n towards town!

December 5, 2007 at 2:22 pm Leave a comment

I think today might actually considered a “we’re taking a break” day even though we are working. We’ll be heading to the big city of Lexington to do some shopping, make deliveries and as much as I hate it…go stand in line at the Post Office. I swear, I’m considering bringing one of those fold up chairs with me today! HaHa! The postal folks in Nicholasville are soooooo nice. They help everyone address their packages, put tape on the boxes, take time to ask about the grandkids, etc. I even had one “decorate” my package with stamps of all varieties instead of just slapping one of those post paid thingies on it. It was quite embarrassing for me because the line was out the door while customers waited for me to finish. But, the clerk was just being nice and that’s a great part of living in a small town…besides my gift recipient loved the box loaded with different stamps! So, I think I’ll just pack up a chair and I’ll offer it to anyone who has to wait on me today! 🙂

Poor Drew is still trying to decide what to fix for sampling at the market this Saturday. When funds are tight we have to really scour the grocery ads for the best bargains. Well, heck…I do that anyway! But when you are fixing enough for a few hundred samples it makes a big difference. Ground beef is on sale so something tells me that he’ll figure out something using it. I bet it’s a soup of some sort using our Herb’n Cowboy cause he just finished making a fresh batch of that yesterday. If you happen to be in downtown Lexington on Saturday, stop by and have a taste of whatever he decides to create. We’re in Victorian Square and from what we have been told, all you have to do is follow your nose. Apparently our seasoning wafts through the area…we can’t smell it anymore because it’s become so familiar to us!

I’m not sure what our shopping cart will be filled with but I’m hoping it’s something exciting and wonderful! We’ve sort of been eating boring food lately. That’s pretty bad for folks in the herb seasoning business but cooking has taken second seat to getting orders out. I swear, a good old pizza from a pizza store sounds wonderful to me. Don’t think I can talk Drew into that one. He’s a dump all sorts of stuff on a frozen one kinda guy. I want it hot and gooey with all sorts of cheese falling onto my chin. He wants meat! Typical man. You’d think after 13 years that I would be used to him. Speaking of which…we both forgot our anniversary the other day. That’s pretty sad. I’m gonna say that we don’t need to remind each other about our love and that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!!! BTW, I marked the 2008 calendar so I don’t forget next year.

How about a “it’s snowing and I want a sort of pizza” recipe today!

SLOPPY GRIDDLE PIZZA

2 LB GROUND BEEF

1 CUP ONION, DICED

1 RIB CELERY, DICED

2 TBSP. RUB’N SEASON BEEF

1 12 OZ. CAN OF BEER

3 TBSP. WORCESTERSHIRE

1 14.5 OZ. CAN PETITE DICED TOMATOES

1 CUP KETCHUP

1 TBSP. BROWN MUSTARD

SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE

FLOUR TORTILLAS

THIN SLICED ONIONS & GREEN PEPPERS

 

IN A LARGE SKILLET BROWN BEEF; DRAIN. ADD ONIONS AND CELERY; SAUTE WITH BEEF FOR 5 MINUTES. ADD NEXT 4 INGREDIENTS AND SIMMER FOR 20 MINUTES, STIRRING OCCASIONALLY UNTIL LIQUID HAS REDUCED ALL THE WAY DOWN. ADD KETCHUP AND MUSTARD, SIMMER 15 – 20 MINUTES. LIGHTLY OIL ONE SIDE OF THE TORTILLA. COVER OPPOSITE SIDE WITH MEAT, ONIONS, PEPPERS AND CHEESE. GRILL TORTILLA UNTIL CRISPY. PLACE UNDER BROILER TO MELT CHEESE. MAY ALSO BE SERVED ON A BUN!

Heck, it’s probably the closest thing to a pizza parlor pie that I’ll get today! Have a great one all and stay warm and safe if you are out on the roads.

Entry filed under: daily living, Farmers Market, Food, herbs and spices, recipe. Tags: , , , , .

Chilly Monday Morning! Brain Fart Friday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



