New Day, New Year!

January 1, 2008 at 3:51 pm 1 comment

I think we’re supposed to reflect on the previous year and make plans for the new year on this, the first day of 2008. Somehow I just want to forget last year and concentrate on beginning anew. It’s a beautiful morning even thought it’s windy and cold. The sun is shining in through my window and all I can do is give thanks for the life that I have with Drew, my friends and family. It’s gonna be a great new year, I can feel it!

We’re starting it off with a gut wadd’in breakfast. It’s a darn good thing we don’t make resolutions or we’d be breaking the diet one right off the bat! That fried taters, country ham, biscuits and gravy on my plate would surely ruin any diet. But, I don’t care it’s the start of a new year and I’m going to start out with a full belly!

Drew picked up a pork loin for dinner tonight and of course, we’ll have the traditional black eyed peas to go along with it. I’ll probably mash some taters to go with the “I gotta have” sauerkraut with pork thing. To be honest with you the only way I can get those “good luck” peas down is to smash them together with the taters and sauerkraut. But, if they’ll bring me luck, I’ll choke them down. I just don’t think it’s fair, I eat Drew’s traditional black eyed peas…so how come he won’t eat my families traditional pickled herring? The only time my family of Swedes ate it was New Year’s eve…maybe Drew knew something we didn’t know. HaHa!

Time for breakfast and watching the Rose Parade…now, that’s a New Year’s day must! Hope you all have a great day and a wonderful start of 2008. 🙂

Entry filed under: daily living. Tags: .

We made it to Sunday! Oh My Gosh, It’s Thursday…Already!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  January 3, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Karin – you are too funny. I had tried to look at this from work and our firewalls prevented it. Just was reviewing our e-mails and thought I’d take a peak. Can’t believe, this story, it sounds soooooooo funny when reading it. You are tooooooo good with words and entertaining folks. Thanks again for all of your and Drew’s hard work. We love you

    R&J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



