Oh My Gosh, It’s Thursday…Already!

January 3, 2008 at 5:17 pm Leave a comment

I still can’t believe that it’s 2008! I’m not sure I have finished up 2007! Well, if I didn’t so be it. The new year is here and the plans for Herb’n Renewal are starting. We have decided to open our farm shop again. This time it will be a bit different. Last time we opened it up to the public we had crafts, seasoning, gourds, etc. This time it will be mostly seasoning, some local items such as honey and my wonderful (even if I do say so myself!) soaps. This spring we’ll concentrate on the herb beds so that we’ll have plenty of fresh cut herbs available. And, I’ve already been perusing the seed catalogs trying to decide what new veggies we can bring to the area. We might even get back into herb plants. This is so exciting and scary for us. I keep telling Drew I’m to darn old for a change but it just feels so right.

We’ve had many phone calls and emails asking us “is it true, you’re not coming back to the market?” Yes, it is true we are no longer members of the Lexington Farmers’ Market. Many of our customer friends have asked how to get in touch with us. You can certainly keep up with us on this blog or else you can give us a holler at rubnseason@aol.com or if you feel like talking to a real person you can reach us at (859) 548-3516. I’ve decided to try and set up a newsletter by email. Heck, I should be able to do that, I did it for 5 years at the market! Anyway, if you would like to be included, please send us an email and let me know if you would like to be added to the list I’ll sure do my best to get it started. It’s times like this when I wish I had not fallen asleep during college. I majored in computer programming! You’d think I would be smart enough to do this simple task, but no…not me. Of course, you have to remember that I graduated in 1970 and we were still in the keypunch card error and actual wired boards, not just buttons and clicks! HaHa!

Okay, on to the daily stuff. Not sure about the rest of you but we had the traditional pork, sauerkraut and black eyed peas for New Year’s dinner. That means we have leftovers! Yup, the pork sandwich with sauerkraut on it was great for one meal but we still have pork! And, you can forget those darn black eyed peas…I had my one teaspoon full for good luck and now Drew can have the rest!

Here’s the original recipe that was one of the ones Drew used as a sampling at the market. Make sure you read on so you can use it with leftovers. Most of all enjoy the new year! 🙂

Herb’n Dutch Stir Fry

1 lb. boneless pork loin, cut into thin strips

1 heaping tbsp, Rub’n Season Pork

4 strips bacon

8 cups cabbage, cut into thin strips

½ cup onion, diced

1 cup carrots, shredded

2 tbsp. white vinegar

1/8 cup brown sugar, packed

Toss pork with Rub’n Season Pork and let sit in fridge for at least one hour. In a large skillet, brown bacon and set aside leaving the drippin’s in the pan. On medium high heat, brown the pork in the drippin’s for 4-5 minutes. Add cabbage and onion, cook stirring at all times for about 4-5 minutes or until crisp tender. Add carrots, then vinegar and brown sugar. Stir fry for two more minutes. Crumble reserved bacon and stir into mixture. Traditionally served with buttered noodles and applesauce as side dishes.

Okay, here’s the leftover pork version…

Forget the rub the pork thing, just use your leftover pork and cut it into strips and set it aside. Cook the bacon and set it aside. Then add the cabbage and onion to the bacon drippin’s. Cook it for the same 4-5 minutes or until crisp tender. Add the carrots, then the vinegar, brown sugar, about 2 teaspoons of Rub’n Season Pork and the leftover pork. Stir fry that for an additional 2-3 minutes or until the pork is heated through. Give it a taste test and salt if necessary. Crumble the reserved bacon into mixture and stir. Serve with the same noodles and applesauce! 🙂

Entry filed under: daily living, Farmers Market, Food, herbs and spices, recipe. Tags: , , , .

New Day, New Year! I HATE Computers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



