Friday is the day!

January 25, 2008 at 1:30 am 3 comments

Well, it’s finally here…opening day of our shop on the farm. Herb’n Renewal has been renewed! It’s been a bit difficult trying to squish all of our stuff into such a small space but I think we’ve managed to do it quite well and still leave a table for me to load the baskets, get the packages ready for Drew, etc. We are really excited about our opening tomorrow.

We’ve had so many phone calls and emails asking us where to find our herb blends and my homemade soap now that we are no longer members of the Lexington Farmers’ Market. You have no idea how much we have appreciated the support from our customers and farmers friends. We hope that you all come visit our little bit of heaven…now with a store on it!

Some things just couldn’t change so we had to hang our trusty farmers market sign right next to the front entrance. Heck, we’ve been unpacking and hanging it every Saturday for 10 years and we decided that it deserved a permanent location.

hr-welcome-sign.jpg

I just have to share a few pictures to show you how you can set up a shop and keep the “renewal” theme going. That tall shelf is an old metal utility thing that I covered in our market tablecloths and added a few bows. Who knew you could do that with a hunk of junk! And, by the way that piggy that you see peeking out from the bottom shelf was a gift from a dear friend of mine and I look at him as though he is my darling Buckwheat watching out for me! Thank you Sherry and Macaw for thinking of me. 🙂 For those of you who don’t know about Buckwheat, I’ll have to tell you his story another day. Just let it be known that he was mommas piggy and I miss him bunches. 

hr-shop-shelf.jpg

hr-shop-soap.jpg

I’m darn proud to say that the only thing that we purchased to set up our shop were the navy bandannas that I used for the curtains! I was going to use some of the ones Drew had but I thought better of it after I looked at them. I doubt that they would have blocked any sun…appears like they have seen their share of farm sweat!! HaHa!

hr-shop-1.jpg

Well, we hope you will all come visit us and take a peek at our new venture. It’s been fun and we can’t wait to open the doors tomorrow. We’re easy to find and really not a hard drive from Lexington. In fact it’s four lane 99% of the way! Just take Rt. 27 (Nicholasville Rd.) south around Nicholasville and continue until you go over the Kentucky River. When you get to the top of the hill you’ll find Rt. 1845 on the right. That’s our road! If you happen to drive by it you will see the Rocky Top Shell gas station on the right…you went too far so you better turn around. Once you get onto Rt. 1845 (better known as Rogers Rd. but no sign) just go 2.4 miles and you’ll see our sign on the left. Please drive carefully on our road because folks around here think they are in England and they all drive on the wrong side of the road! lol

We’ll be open each Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 10AM until 6PM until we decide what else we want to do with our new found venture. I’m hoping that you’ll be able to come to our farm and we’ll harvest fresh cut herbs while you wait…can’t get much fresher than that! I’m also going to try a new way of gardening and we’ll probably have fresh vegetables all spring and summer. We’re taking baby steps but I can see it all in my dreams each night. Have to admit that it’s fun to wake up with a smile and a purpose.

Geez, almost forgot. We’re giving away a gift basket filled with our herb blends this weekend. Just come on in and sign up and if you are the lucky winner we’ll let you know!

If you have any problems finding us please give us a call at (859) 548-3516. See ya down on the farm! 🙂

 

 

Entry filed under: daily living, Farmers Market, Food, herbs and spices, shopping, thinking out loud, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Meet My “Mater” Friend! Opening weekend thoughts!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  January 25, 2008 at 3:25 am

    Your “little bit of heaven” looks divine. You did a great job. Too bad I’m so far away. Otherwise I would come and see you on your opening weekend.

    Reply
  • 2. Fran-(aka) #1 Herb n' Renewal GROUPIE  |  January 26, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    I can not wait to get there and see your store! I will be there Sat. or Sun. I’ve got to get some more of your wonderful chili spice and soup and stew mix for this cold weather. Also, I am out of Poultry & Pork spice.
    Thanks to you two, my soups, meats, and casseroles made with your spices are a big hit at the Catholic Action Center where we serve the homeless in Lexington. The homeless guys and gals that eat there go WILD over the foods that I cook, seasoned with your spices. Thank you, you are reaching so many with your delicious spices.
    Your right, the drive is not that far from Lexington.
    Praying that you get swamped this week-end.
    The shop looks really nice.I am soooo excited for you and Drew. You both deserve it. You have fed so many of us on those early mornings on Vine Street with your goodies.
    I am a huge ‘Herb n Renewal Groupie”
    Good Luck and see ya soon,
    Fran Frazier
    Lexington, KY

    Reply
  • 3. herbfolks  |  January 27, 2008 at 1:23 am

    Look forward to seeing you! Drew has fed many of Lexington’s homeless each Saturday and we’d like to continue through you now that we won’t be on our corner anymore. If you’re willing to do the cooking, we’d love to help you out by giving you the herbs and spices. We’ll help in any way that we can. Hey, everyone deserves good tasting food!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



