Opening weekend thoughts!

January 28, 2008 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment

We had the grand opening of our little shop this past weekend and while the crowds that we had hoped for did not flock to our farm, we did get to meet some new folks. That’s always a good thing! And, with the lack of customers we had plenty of free time to continue our de-cluttering the garage efforts. I can’t believe how much stuff “we” have accumulated. Actually it’s more of a “me” thing cause I swear I find stuff that I know I can use somewhere, sometime. Unfortunately that just hasn’t happened yet. What was I thinking when I saved those thousands of shells? Oh yeah, I was going to use them to decorate my gourd baskets. I don’t want you to think that I still have all of them left…I did use some of them! Lol My word, I guess I had also hoped I would get some major craft ideas to pop into my pea brain because I had bunches of magazines saved too! The great part is somebody else is going to either use them or save them just like I did..they went to a good home! And, did I mention baskets? Holy Mackerel where did they all come from!!! Again, they went to a good home and hopefully will raise some much needed funds for a local charity.

Now, about opening day. For the past 10 years I have only had to get fully dressed one day a week…maybe two. When I say “fully dressed” I mean the whole make-up, hair styling, the putting on of the dreaded “stop’em from flopp’in” thing and real shoes. I’m sure some of you gals know what I am talking about. Well, all of a sudden I am about to be in public view for three days straight! That’s another big EEK! What was I thinking when I got this brainstorm to open this shop? Must have been a case of dain bramage on my part. It actually felt kinda good to be clothed in something other than my sweats for a change. But, apparently those plaid flannel britches that they tout as “leisure” pants are not what one should wear when greeting customers. I had a lady tell me that I looked comfortable in my pajama’s! Next week I’ll wear jeans…maybe they’re more formal for my kind of work. I know that it’ll take a bit to get folks used to the fact that we’re now a business on the farm and not at the market. Let’s see what happens next weekend…we’re keeping our fingers crossed.

The lack of traffic did give us the opportunity to cook and bake too. I baked some bread and fried some of that wonderful Georgia Wild Caught shrimp that we had in our freezer. I tried something new with them this time. So simple and so good. For the shrimp just peel and devein them…a rinse in salted cold water will bring back that fresh caught flavor. I then gave them a toss in plain old flour, a dip in an egg and water wash and then finally into a mixture of smashed corn flakes and bread crumbs that I seasoned with our Good’n Garlicky. Make sure your oil (we use Canola) is 350-375 degrees and drop the shrimp in and fry for just a few minutes until golden brown. Do not over cook them! Drew made a new to me dipping sauce and it was wonderful. Of course I asked him for the recipe so I could pass it on and he said he just “winged it!” I’ll just tell you that it tasted like a tartare sauce with some ketchup thrown in but it didn’t taste like a Thousand Island dressing. I’ll have to see if I can get him to recreate it so I can write down the recipe.

I love freshly baked bread, who doesn’t! Problem is I am scared of it and from what I understand, I am not alone. I discovered this recipe quite sometime ago and it’s really easy and great!

Oatmeal Bread

3 cups flour
1 1/4 cup quick oats
1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon salt
1 egg
1/4 cup honey

1 1/2 cup milk
1 tablespoon butter, melted
Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour a loaf pan.

Mix all dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl beat the egg, honey and milk. Add the liquid to the dry and mix well…it will be lumpy. Pour into loaf pan and bake for 1 hour and about 10 minutes or until crusty. Place on a rack and brush with melted butter.

Happy baking! 🙂

Don’t forget that our little Herb’n Renewal shop is open each Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 10 until 6. We’re easy to find. Just take Rt. 27 south from Lexington around Nicholasville and to the Kentucky River. Once you go over the river you’ll go up a hill and you’ll notice that the road turns into two lanes…make a right onto Rt.1845. Go 2.4 miles and you’ll find us on the left. By the way, be careful on our road, folks think they are driving in England and they have a tendency to use the wrong side of the road! Hope to see you all flocking to our farm this weekend! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: daily living, Food, herbs and spices, musing, recipe, shopping, thinking out loud. Tags: , , , .

Friday is the day! Poor “Bernie” is not well!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



