Am I the only one in a rut?

February 13, 2008 at 1:25 pm Leave a comment

I don’t know about anyone else but this darn cold and snowy weather puts me in a rut! All I want to do is cuddle up with a soft quilt, a hot cocoa and peruse my seed catalogs. I guess it helps to look at all of those beautiful flowers and wonderful veggies. I’m trying to think spring but it just isn’t working. I’m beginning to think that I need to move to a warmer climate. I’m getting close to retirement age and those sunny states are starting to call my name. There’s only one problem. Just cause 65 is only a few short years down the road you have to have the $$$ to retire. Having a mom and pop herb business has not really added to my portfolio! lol Oh well, I love Kentucky and can’t imagine living anywhere else…I just wish that spring would hurry up and get here!

I going to try and talk Drew into fixing us a big pot of chili and cornbread for dinner tonight. I guess I could offer to do it but that would mean that I would have to put my catalogs aside and come out from under my quilt. I don’t think that’s gonna happen today. I let the dogs out early this morning and took one look at the snow and ice and quickly crawled back into my rut!

Even Drew decided to stay in bed a bit longer this morning and that’s very unusual for him. I did get a big giggle watching him. He had the covers pulled up over his head and the only thing peeping out was his nose and mouth and he was snoring so loud I thought it might start peeling off the wallpaper! Little LouLou, our newly neutered, cross-eyed darling was right up in his face moving his head from side to side. He looked like he was trying to figure out where that God awful noise was coming from!

Okay, Karin get your butt in gear and quit being such a lazy bones. The least I can do is take the pork out of the freezer so Drew can start creating. Here’s the recipe for one of my favorite ways to prepare a different chili.

Hog Wild Chili

3 lbs. pork loin, cubed

2 tbsp. Bacon drippings

1 medium onion, diced

1 cup diced green pepper

1 12 oz. can of beer

1 28 oz. Can diced tomatoes

1 29 oz. Can tomato sauce

3 tbsp. Chili Season’n

1 30 oz. Can chili beans

1 15.5 oz cans of Northern beans

Brown pork in bacon drippings until moisture is reduced and meat is lightly browned. Add peppers and onions; saute’ 5 minutes. Add beer, tomatoes, sauce and Chili Season’n. Bring to a boil; reduce heat. Cover and simmer on low for 20 minutes. Add beans and return to a simmer and cook until meat is tender…approximately 1-2 hours, stirring occasionally. If chili is not the desired thickness, add 1 tbsp. of cornmeal at a time to thicken …make sure you stir after adding each spoonful.

Stay warm all! 🙂

P.S. “Bernie” is doing better but he is still not 100%. 😦

Entry filed under: daily living, Food, herbs and spices, pets, recipe. Tags: , , , .

Poor “Bernie” is not well! Sunday’s Do’in!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



