WOW, a new opportunity!

April 11, 2008 at 3:00 pm 7 comments

Boy oh boy, what a past few weeks it has been! My mom always told me not to say anything unless I could say something nice so I haven’t been updating the blog simply cause I really was having a hard time trying to find something really nice to say! We’ve had floods, the furnace broke, the clothes dryer died, the price of gas went up…again! It just hasn’t been a pleasant last few weeks, but that’s all behind us now. 🙂

I am enjoying the wonderful fresh smell of our sheets and clothes as they come off of the line. The aroma of the home baked bread that I have finely learned how to make is unbelievable! We’ve learned how to snuggle again when the temperatures drop…that’s a good thing after 14 years! Lol Unfortunately we can’t do much about the gas prices but we’re not alone with that.

Our little shop is not doing as well as we had hoped but the good thing is we have made some new friends and we have new customers! Drew had been looking for a job all winter and it’s difficult when your vehicle only gets 8 MPG. 😦 A friend of ours owns Caros, a local “joint” in Lexington and she offered to let us set up shop each Saturday during the Lexington Farmers’ Market. We were thrilled because that meant we would still have access to our regular Lexington customers. Then Drew got a call from her very early this morning asking if he could come in and help her man the grill. It appears that her partners did not want to work on Saturday so they walked out on her! It’s tough to cook and run the register at the same time, so Drew will be helping her out. Who knows where this will lead but Robin is a darling and as Drew always tells her “I’ve got your back!”

Of course that leaves me to do the packing for the “market.” YIKES!!!! I promise I’ll do a good job and I’ll remember to include all of the recipes. You can count your blessings…Drew had already blended all of the seasoning this week. Lol

So, this is me heading to the kitchen so we can be ready for opening day at the market. Remember that we will be inside at Caros on Upper St. It’s just across from where we used to set up on the corner of Vine and Upper. Robin and probably Drew, will be cooking a full breakfast and a light lunch menu from 7 until 2 so stop by and enjoy a “cuppa” with us.

Of course, this means that our little shop on the farm will be closed on Saturdays….sorry.

BTW, the gals are doing just fine! 🙂

The darlings sure like to sleep!

 

Entry filed under: daily living, Food, herbs and spices, pets, shopping.

Sunday’s Do’in! Life is getting better!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen (3gm)  |  April 11, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Nice to see the update. The opportunity sounds wonderful. And the kitties are so cute. I just want to snuggle them.

    Reply
  • 2. akentuckycreation  |  April 12, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Good to hear from you again. I live here in Central Ky. (Nicholasville). Have you ever considered having “home parties” to showcase and sell your seasonings? I have tried some of them and they are very good. Just an idea? I am an entrepreneur and have had “many” careers.

    Lee

    Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  April 21, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Parties is an interesting idea!

    Reply
  • 4. John Petrone  |  April 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Hello Karin, Debi’s old boyfriend again. I was worried that maybe a tornado took you guys out….The weather is a little crazier than West Islip’s. I have yet to send your sister a letter….I wish she had email……

    Reply
  • 5. herbfolks  |  April 25, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Geez, John…I know the feeling. Deb and I could be much closer if she had email capability. Actually her son is a computer whiz..she’s just not interested. 😦

    I miss West Islip…mostly miss the food! It was wonderful to find different ethnic restaurants in each shopping center. Have to admit that our area is getting better but I still crave shrimp toast, a for real meatball sub and a pizza that flops when you pick up a slice! lol And, I would kill for a real crumb cake, you know the ones that leave powdered sugar all over your chin when you bite into them and you better have coffee handy cause you’ll darn sure sneeze! You’re making me hungry, guess I’ll have to go settle for the Entenmann’s that we can get in Kentucky.

    Take a minute and write Deb a note, I know she’d love to hear from you.

    Reply
  • 6. John P.  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Karin, yes..Ain’t nothin like good old NY pizza…..My favorite around here is ” Umbertos”….I live in Setauket….Did you know they tore down the OBI…..I don’t remember you going there….That was my hangout…..The traffic here on Long Island is getting worse so there is a tradeoff…You have those nice green hills of Kentucky to get lost in….You can always come back to eat:)

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Great Site – really useful information!l

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



