We’re Cheese’n Season’n at Herb’n Renewal!

October 21, 2012 at 11:44 pm Leave a comment

This morning I was trying to get my brain to focus on herbs, spices, seasoning, etc. recipes so I could create an entry for this blog. For some reason they all went into one big darn pot and the result was not very good. I mean curry, sage, parsley, mint, chervil, oregano and basil just did not seem like a good mix. Where the heck did Drew come up with that blend? Whew…I woke up and realized that I was having a nightmare! lol Thank heavens he has not lost his touch…or in his case, his taste! 🙂

I am a cheese eater! I love good, great and even generic store labeled cheese. If I buy an 8 oz. hunk of anything cheese related…you can count on it being gone in a day or two. I do not share my cheese! Drew has his chocolate and I do not eat it, so why should I share my cheese!!!

I know, you are thinking where the heck is this going???? lol I’m getting to some recipes for one of our favorites…Cheese’n Season! You see, I was eating (and not sharing) some boursin cheese from the local grocery gourmet aisle. I know that this is not really a cheese, but a cheese spread that has been widely duplicated from the original Gournay Boursin recipe. It’s still damn good in my book! Anyway, while was I moaning in delight, Drew asked if he might have a bite or two. Reluctantly, I shared one with him. He agreed that it was very tasty. I think he wanted another one without earning it! lol

Part two of this story continues after I gave Drew that taste of my boursin cheese topped cracker…he liked it and as usual, he went to the task of determining which spices and herbs were used to come up with the great flavor. Hmmmm…oregano, garlic, chives, etc. A few hours later he handed me a cracker with “stuff’ on it and I knew in a second why I married this great taste tester and herb blender! Drew came up with an herb and spice blend that would duplicate the expensive boursin cheese…I could now share with him! That’s what marriage is all about as far as I am concerned…sharing cheese. He can keep his chocolate. Hey, it’s worked for 18 years and I am his fourth wife! OMG, that is scary but I knew the day that I met this big lug, that he was gonna keep me in cheese for the rest of my live…and now he is doing it on a budget! WTG Drew!

That new blend was named Cheese’n Season and we’ve found that it’s great for more than just making the wonderful boursin type cheese. In fact, a friend said she no longer makes her grilled cheese without it. Hey, wait a minute…there’s no cheese in Cheese’n Season! Her recipe was white bread with two slices of yellow cheese and a little pinch of Cheese’n Season…put it in a skillet with butter and cook until nice and brown. I kept thinking that the dried herbs would be crunchy but I was surprised when I tried it…very good and not crunchy!

Well, here’s a few more recipes using our Cheese’n Season herb blend…

Let’s start with the basics and a few hints.

BASIC BOURSIN CHEESE TYPE

To make the cheese spread simply cream 2 8 oz. packages of softened cream cheese with 1 cup (2 sticks) of softened butter…add 1 heaping tablespoon of CHEESE’N SEASON and blend well. Refrigerate to thicken. Store in fridge for up to 1 week or in freezer for up to 3 months!

This makes a big batch…enough for a party full of cracker spreaders! If you want less, cut it in half or do as we do and drop the extras onto a sheet pan using a tablespoon. Freeze until solid and then store in a freezer plastic bag…make sure you label it! They can be used in place of butter on a baked potato, try stirring a few into pasta or place one on any meat or fish after cooking them…melted deliciousness!

This one is a crowd favorite!

CHEESE’N SEASON BRUNCH IN A SKILLET

2 cups potatoes, diced small
12 large eggs
4 tablespoons water
1 heaping tablespoon Cheese’n Season
1 lb. breakfast sausage
1/2 cup red bell pepper, diced small
1/2 cup green bell pepper, diced small
1 cup onion, diced small
3 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Boil potatoes until just done, about 10 minutes. Drain and rinse well in cold water, pat dry and set aside. Beat eggs with water and Cheese’n Season; set aside. In a large skillet, brown sausage…breaking it up while cooking. When fully cooked, drain on paper toweling and set aside. In same skillet, saute’ peppers and onions in butter for 5 minutes. Add eggs and scramble until they just start to thicken. Add potatoes and sausage; continuing to stir. When eggs are almost done, add cheese and stir until melted. Salt and pepper to taste.

This soup is perfect for that end of season asparagus, when it tends to get a bit thick.

CHEESE’N SEASON ASPARAGUS SOUP

1 quart water
1 tablespoon chicken bouillon
1 lb. fresh asparagus, chopped 1/4”
1 bunch green onions, chopped
2 quarts milk
1 1/2 tablespoon Cheese’n Season
2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
roux (1/2 stick melted butter and 1/4 cup flour, blended)

Bring water to a boil and add bouillon. Add larger pieces of asparagus (stem end) and let cook for 5 minutes. Add remaining asparagus and onions; reduce heat and simmer until tender…about 5 minutes. Add milk and Cheese’n Season; bring to almost a boil Slowly add roux, stirring constantly until smooth and thickened. Add cheese and stir slowly until melted and smooth. Salt and pepper to taste.

Every good soup or chili deserves a great cornbread!

HERB’N CORNBREAD

2 1/2 cups yellow self-rising corn meal
1 tablespoon Cheese’n Season
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine first seven ingredients; mix well. Heat 9” cast iron skillet or pan with the 1 tablespoon vegetable oil for 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Spread mixture into hot skillet/pan and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

We always tell folks that
Cheese’n Season is definitely
one to play with…enjoy!

Entry filed under: daily living, Farmers Market, Food, herbs and spices, musing, recipe, shopping, thinking out loud, Uncategorized.

Veggie Time at Herb’n Renewal! Soup Scoop’n at Herb’n Renewal!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



