Perfect Snow Day At Herb’n Renewal!

January 22, 2016 at 5:02 pm 1 comment

snow jan 2016

We’re taking a Super Bowl countdown break for a snow day! Yes, it is snowing in our neck of the woods! So far we have about 6” and it is still coming down. We’re not looking forward to the 15” they are predicting. And, by the way…that is our bottle tree and I can guarantee that we will be adding a few more after this is all over! lol

So, what does one do when you are to old to enjoy playing in the snow? You make a hearty chicken soup! 🙂

I have to admit that when I make soup I am what is known as a “dumper!” I do not measure…I just dump whatever I have on hand into my favorite pot…it belonged to my mom and it has seen many years of use. It’s still my go to pot for soups and stews!

Let’s start with the basics…celery, onions and carrots sauteed in a bit of butter. I used one medium onion, two ribs of celery and three good sized carrots.

chicken soup 1

Then I added the chicken breast chunks…we are white meat eaters but admittedly, thighs would probably add more flavor. I used three large chicken breasts…boneless and skinless because it was all that I had on hand…skin would have been better! Give all of this a good stir and let cook for a couple of minutes or until the chicken is no longer raw.

chicken soup 2

Then, I covered it with water seen as how I had used all of my chicken broth a week ago. Water works, especially if you add about a tablespoon of chicken bouillon. Now comes the best part…the Rub’n Season Poultry! I used a heaping tablespoon…just dump it on top of the water and stir it in. Bring it to a boil, lower the temperature to a simmer and cover.

chicken soup 3

I like to smell my soup cooking so I simmered this pot for about three hours and then added some frozen peas…about a cup. This would be the time to add any other frozen veggies that you might want…corn, lima beans, etc. I just wanted the pea and carrot thingie this time. Bring back to a gentle rolling boil and add your noodles. Hint…Fettuccine broken into pieces makes for a great noodle!

chicken soup 4

You’re ready to serve a steaming mug of hearty chicken noodle soup once the noodles are cooked! Enjoy!!!

chicken soup 5

Don’t forget, you can find our Rub’n Season Poultry at http://www.herbnrenewal.com

Entry filed under: daily living, Food, herbs and spices, musing, recipe, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

The Super Bowl Countdown Continues at Herb’n Renewal! Super Bowl Sunday Quesadillas With Herb’n Renewal!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



